Past National Award Winners

Astronaut Scholarship

2015-17 Erin Kado-Fong, Astrophysics
2014-15 Summer Morrill, Biology
2013-14 Sam Bashevkin, Biology
2012-13 Sam Bashevkin, Biology
2010-11 Lauren Wielgus, Physics
2009-10 Adam Steinbrenner, Biology
2008-09 Adam Raczkowski, Mathematics and Computer Science
2007-08 Natalie Wolchover, Physics
2006-07 Kyle Bradbury, Electrical Engineering
2005-06 Russell Sargent, Physics
2004-05 Michele Cutrofello, Environmental and Water Resources Engineering
2003-04 Michele Cutrofello, Environmental and Water Resources Engineering
2002-03 Veronica Chouinard, Mechanical Engineering
2001-02 Sheri Weinberg, Electrical and Biomedical Engineering
1999-00 Melissa Bargmann, Mechanical Engineering
1998-99 Adam Weber, Chemical Engineering
1997-98 Julien Ginsberg-Place, Biology
1996-97 Heidi Kenerson, Electrical Engineering
1995-96 Sarah Krikorian, Mechanical Engineering
1994-95 Jeffrey Bellerose, Mechanical Engineering and Physics

Beinecke Scholarship

2009 Benjamin Sacks, History
2008 David Suzenski, Economics and French
2005 John Papp, Quantitative Economics and Mathematics
2001 Shannon Gourley, Psychology and English1997 Seth Redfield, Astrophysics and Physics

Carnegie Scholarship

2018 Cas Bardo, International Relations
2012 Alexandra Siegel, International Relations
2011 Alexandra Blackman, International Relations

CORO Junior Scholarship

2018 Jamie Nekeirie (St. Louis)
2015 Onika Hanson (New York)
2014 Alex Wallach Hanson (Pittsburgh)
2013 Averi Becque (New York)
2012 Erik Antokal (New York)
         William Huang (New York)
2010 Ikenna Acholanu (San Francisco)
2009 Lena Andrews (Pittsburgh)
2007 Fred Jones (New York)
2007 Unaza Khan (New York)
2006 Yanelly Molina (St. Louis)
2006 Jeff Burke (Pittsburgh)
2005 Lynda Turet (New York)
2004 Daniel Kramer (Los Angeles)
2004 David Shih-Chun Wu (San Francisco)
2000 Chrissie Greer (New York)
1998 Aaron Dworkin (New York)

Fulbright Scholarship

See a complete list of Tufts's Fulbright Scholars

Goldwater Scholarship

2020 Cassandra Cancemi, Biology
2020 Jonathan Rodriguez, Computer Science and Mathematics
2019 Max McCarthy, Biology
2018 Thomas George (Honorable Mention), Chemical Engineering
2017 Hannah Harris, Biology
2016 Lily Beuchler (Honorable Mention), Mechanical Engineering
2015 Erin Fong, Astrophysics
2014 Summer Morrill, Biology
2014 Andrew Rosen, Chemical Engineering
2013 Noah Kurinsky, Engineering Physics
2013 Sam Bashevkin, Biology
2011 Sarah Cannon, Mathematics
2009 Jose Ordovas-Montanes, Biology
2007 Pauli Kehayias, Engineering Physics
2005 Katie Seyboth, Computer Science

Marshall Scholarship

2001 John-Paul Ghobrial
1995 Ara Barsam
1990 Jennifer Hooper
1989 Jay Greene
1987 Rachel Beauvior

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program

2017 Arturo Munoz, Technology Education

Rhodes Scholarship

1997 Bryan Graham, Quantitative Economics

Truman Scholarship

2020 Carter "Zoeey" Wilkinson, American Studies, Montana
2018 Anne Hall, Interdisciplinary Studies, South Dakota
2014 Amber Rose Johnson, Africana Studies and American Studies, Rhode Island
2014 Safiya Subegdjo, International Relations, New Hampshire
2008 Jennifer Bailey, Political Science, Illinois
2008  Sofia Nelson, Political Science and Women's Studies, Michigan
2006  Julia Goldberg, Biopsychology and Community Health, Arizona
2005  Jeremy Sueker, International Relations and Community Health, Pennsylvania
1994  Nanette Loewenburg, Rhode Island
1980  Daniel Gelber, Florida
1990  Max Finberg, New York
1986  Jay Greene, Illinois

Udall Scholarship

2019 Michaela Morse, SMFA and Interdisciplinary Studies, Honorable Mention
2015 Luke Sherman, Environmental Studies and French
2009 Matt Thoms, Mechanical Engineering
2006 Amanda Fencl, Environmental Studies and International Relations
2006 Aditya Nochur, Environmental Studies and Biology
2004 Jennifer Baldwin, Environmental Studies and Art History

Given how open the ETA position is, it can be tricky to know what to focus on in your application. The single most valuable piece of advice for the essays came from Anne Moore, who suggested thinking of the statement of grant purpose as prose and the personal statement as poetry.

To see more about Katy Bullard's Fulbright experience, check out our Student Testimonial page.

Katy Bullard, Fulbright English Teaching Assistant, South Africa